- What is Fellowship?
Fellowship is a new keyword ability. A card with Fellowship has
"Whenever this creature attacks, you may choose another attacking
creature. If you do, then all creatures blocking either creature
can and must block both of them."
- When do I make the Fellowship choice?
When a creature with Fellowship attacks, it creates a triggered effect.
When the triggered effect resolves, you choose. This all happens after
all the attackers are declared, but before blockers are declared.
- Can I choose to Fellowship my Friendly Giant with a Real Mermaid
(which has shroud)?
Yes. The Fellowship choice does not target.
- What happens if a creature in a Fellowship leaves play before combat
Nothing; you don't get to rechoose.
- What does "Green Fellowship" or "Merfolk Fellowship" mean?
They mean that the card in question has Fellowship with the added limitation
that the creature it chooses must have the specified attribute (color Green
or creature type Merfolk) at the time of the choice. The Fellowship is
still valid if the chosen creature somehow loses the specified attribute
before combat ends.
- What if a fellowship includes a flier?
Fellowship grants all creatures that could block at least one creature in
the fellowship the ability to block all of them. A fellowship of a Friendly
Giant (non-flier) and a Lonely Bird (flier) could be blocked by any creature
able to block Friendly Giant. A fellowship of two fliers, however, could
only be blocked by creature(s) able to block fliers.
- Does Splitsville uses different rules than normal Magic for flip cards?
Yes, it does. Thanks for asking. The short summary is that in normal Magic,
flip cards have a preferred side (the non-flipped side) and a non-preferred
side (the flipped side). In normal Magic, flip cards can only be cast as
their preferred side, and can only flip one way, from their non-flipped side
to their flipped side. Also, in normal Magic, the flipped side inherits
certain characteristics from the non-flipped side, including color and
In Splitsville, by contrast, the two sides of a flipped card are treated
symmetrically. A flip card can be cast on either side, subject only to the
usual Magic rule that only spells with a mana cost can be played. There are
no restrictions on how a flip card can flip; if a spell or ability says to
flip it, it can be flipped no matter which side it is on or how many times
it has previously flipped. Each side of a flipped card has its own casting
cost. Finally, a flip card is treated like a split card for the purposes
of spells that ask questions about cards not in play: the answer to any
such question is "yes" for a flip card if and only if it is "yes" for at
least one of the flip card's two sides.
There are only two ways that the old flip card rules still apply. First,
if one side of a flipped card has no casting cost but the other side does,
then the side with no casting cost is considered to be the same color as
the side with a casting cost, unless otherwise specified. Second, if a
flip card is put into play without being cast as a spell then it always
comes into play as the non-flipped version (i.e., the version that makes
the set symbol and card number appear on the bottom).
- I have a flip card in play on a side that doesn't have a mana cost.
What is its converted mana cost?
Zero, just like a land or other card without a mana cost.
- Why don't the Auras in Splitsville have "Enchant creature" lines on them?
I hate redundancy, and I needed the space, so I decreed that Splitsville
would use a slightly different template for Auras. Specifically, if the
first sentence of an Aura's text contains the words "enchanted X", then
the Aura is an "Enchant X".
- When you flip X into an instant, where does it go when it resolves?
- What happens when a flip card is temporarily removed from the game?
It always comes back as the "non-flipped" version. See above for details.
- What happens to counters on a card that flips?
They stay on the card.
- What happens to an Aura that is enchanting a card that flips?
As long as the card flips to something that it is legal for the Aura to
enchant, the Aura stays on. Otherwise, the Aura goes to its owner's graveyard.
- Can a card flip in the middle of combat?
Stuff About Specific Cards
- Does Return from Heaven return all cards removed from the game,
or just ones removed by Ascension?
It returns all cards removed from the game. A card is removed from the game
if at one point it was in the game, but is currently outside the game.
- What color are Old Man of the Plains, Swampthing, Old Woman of the Sea,
- What color is Footprint Swamp, Footprint Island, Footprint Forest, etc.?
Black, Blue, Green, etc. Despite being lands, they inherit their color from their other side because of the "If it doesn't have a casting cost, look on the other side for a color" rule.
- Is Comfort the Afflicted really a sorcery?
- Is there a way for me to use Enveloping Furnace on a creature to
double some damage, but still save my licid before the creature dies?
Not usually, no.
- For Metamorphosis Empath, Punisher, etc., what does "a creature
It means that a flip card that starts as a creature flips. The flip card
need not remain a creature for it to count. A flip card that starts as
a non-creature and flips into being a creature does not count.
- What happens to my Mist Elemental if two or more creatures come
into play at the same time?
Each creature that comes into play triggers the effect. Which side it
ends up on depends on whether an even or odd number of creatures come
- Let's say three creatures come into play at the same time. Which
one is my Mirror of Mist a copy of?
The person who controls the spell or ability that put the creatures into
play gets to choose.
- My Mirror of Mist is a copy of an Acolyte of Serra. I play Mutate
on it (the Mirror of Mist). What is it now?
It goes back to being a Mist Elemental. Mirror of Mist copies the creature,
not the card.
- What's the deal with Queasy Goblin? "Summoning sickness" isn't
a game term.
It is now.
- Are Piapt Ascendancy and Rusted Pointer artifacts?
No. They are colorless spells.
- My opponent cast Stabilize on my Goblin Artillery. Can I still
use its ability ("Tap, Flip this card: Goblin Artillery does 2 damage
to target creature.")?
- When I use Uvli the Omniscient's ability ("Tap: Look at target
player's hand and library."), do I shuffle the library after I look at it?
No. Put it back the way it was.
- For Mutate, what's the definition of flippable?
A card is flippable if it has a name on its top and an upside down name
on its bottom.
- When do I choose the first and second effects for Engine Engine?
Every time you tap it.
- Is the "Draw the bottom card of you deck" ability on Merfolk Destiny
a real draw effect? Can it be used to help trigger Inquisitive Wizard,
Yes, it is a real draw effect. If you draw a card on your turn and then
use it, Inquisitive Wizard's flip ability will get triggered.